Life

Ripping off the BandAid

Well I will start by saying I have been wanting to have this conversation for a long time, I always say I am going to tell you my story someday… well I thought why not just tear off the bandaid so to speak and start my first post. I am in a weird transition period in my life so why not share this journey  with the world.

I’m not sure if anyone will ever read this but I think  I’m going to just start by telling a little bit about myself. My name is Amber, I am 27 and from a small mining town in Montana. For the last 9 years I have lived in Missoula, originally I moved to go to the university but life happened and for the last 6 years I have worked for a large corporation. I recently was “surplused”, bottom line a fancy word for laid-off…funny thing is I worked in a department that saved the company millions of dollars every year. My final day is March 31st if I don’t find an internal position by then. I am so awe struck by the wide opportunity of possibilities that are out there, that to be honest it seems a tad overwhelming. I am sure I am going to find something eventually that brings me joy but right now I am not so excited for the unknown.

I recently found out my 10 year reunion will be this year. It is something that I am not looking forward to honestly. My whole life I have been a bit awkward and unsure of myself, so when I was a freshman I would always imagine what it would be like when I finally saw those people again….

*Cut’s to dream sequence*

There I am walking through my highschool gym with long flowy hair, weighing less than I ever had been since puberty in a short leggy red dress. Jaws drop as I flip my Mermaid-like tresses to “Moving in Stereo” by the Carrs.I hear whispers “Who’s is that?”. I will feel vindicated for all my awkwardly introverted ways and be instantly beloved by those peers that I hated so yet desperately wanted them to like me in highschool.

Doesn’t every girl wish they have that moment at least once? It’s that Phoebe Cates climbing out of the pool moment…when those high school boys want you and every kid that ever did you wrong has eat crow.

Unluckily for me I will not be having that moment. In the last 10 years I have gained about 100lbs. So that’s what I am doing here…I am gonna share my journey with you. I plan to lose as much of it by that reunion as possible but I also want to be able to share my stories of success and failure.

So I hope this reaches you well and I’ll keep you updated on my progress.

Always love,

Amber

Leave a Reply

