Life, Recipes

4 Last Minute BBQ Recipes

This weekend I decided that I wanted to have a BBQ. I guess you might say that I have “spring fever”. My boyfriend, Tim and I brought over ingredients to have dinner to my sister’s house. My sister Ashleigh and her fiancé Westen moved back to Montana in October. After years living the life of the traveling safety inspector, living in 4 different states in the matter of 3 years, I am happy they have landed in Missoula. 

I decided we’d have Barbecue pork chops. Westen loves barbecuing or smoking meats, so I knew it would be a good choice! I started by making a marinate for the chops. Here’s what I did…these are approximations.

BBQ Marinate 

Place  4-5 pork chops (defrosted) in  a gallon freezer bag.  In a bowl add 1/3 of cup of vegetable oil. Next add approx. 3 to 4 Tbsp of Worchestershire sauce to oil, about 1/2 of ketchup, and then add seasonings starting with 1 Tbsp of steak seasoning, 1/2 tsp garlic powder,  1/2 tsp onion powder, 1/4 tsp chili powder and black pepper and salt to taste. Next add a 1/4 cup of brown sugar. Add a splash of vinegar. Stir until mixed then pour over chops in bag. Close the freezer bag and shake until chops are thoroughly covered. Let sit in fridge between 2-12 hours. Place on the grill when ready.

What goes with meat? Potatoes of course! Since this was an impromptu dinner I wanted to make something fast and easy! So I went with Roasted Ranch Potatoes, here’s what I did…

Roasted Ranch Potatoes 

1-2 lbs of potatoes chopped 

1/4 cup vegetable oil

1 Ranch Dressing Seasoning packet

Drop chopped potatoes in gallon freezer bag. Pour oil over potatoes. Add Ranch dressing packet, seal the bag a give it a good shake ensuring all of the potatoes are covered. Next layout the potatoes in an untreated sheet pan. Bake at 450° for 35 to 40 minutes 

Ashleigh made a super quick fruit salad. Here’s how she did it:

Tropical Fruit Salad

1 can of Tropical Fruit

1 can of Peaches

1 box of instant lemon pudding

Add both cans of fruit including their juices into a bowl, fold in lemon pudding mix.

And for dessert??? LAVA CAKE!

Ha ha I know this is not helpful when trying to lose weight  but…Here’s what I did: 

Crockpot Lava Cake

1box chocolate fudge cake mix

1 1/4cups milk

1/2cup vegetable oil

3eggs

1box instant chocolate pudding 

2 cups milk

1bag milk chocolate chips

 Spray 6-quart slow cooker with cooking spray.
In large bowl, beat Cake ingredients with electric mixer as directed on cake mix box.
Pour into slow cooker.
In medium bowl, beat pudding mix and 2 cups milk with whisk as directed on box.
Pour into slow cooker over cake batter. Do not mix. Sprinkle chocolate chips over top.
Cover; cook on Low heat setting 2 hours 30 minutes to 3 hours or until cake is set and pudding is beginning to bubble out of cake.

We had this along with a Cesar salad and a chicken salad that Ashleigh’s mother in law made…waiting on that recipe. This is why diets are hard!

I’m so glad my sister moved back to Montana so we can have awesome  weekends like last weekend.

Hope you enjoy! Let me know what you think of these fast and easy recipes!  What do like to bring to a BBQ? I’d love to see your recipes in the comments below! 

♡Amber

Leave a comment